Why “The Inept Juggler”

As a mom who works full time, I always feel that I am failing in some way.  I may be letting someone down or not getting something done.  I can’t manage to take care of my husband, my kids, my job, my home, my faith, and myself – all at the same time.  It seems like the being a working mom just sets you up for failure.  You are doomed to failure. 

One way to handle the job description would be big-time organization, self-discipline, and hard work.  You would do better than I do but would still fail, at times.  They are 24 hours in a day and even if you are Superwoman, you can’t change that.  Many women do the self-denial thing.  It is common knowledge that women will get health care for their child but not for themselves.  Lots of women don’t find time to exercise or to eat right. 

Neither of these strategies are me.  I try to just do what I do by juggling what needs to get done.  I put out the fires that are closest to burning me.  I juggle and I drop balls – and I try to hide the balls that I drop behind me.  When I need to, I grab the dropped balls and exchange them for other balls.  I think the housework ball is pretty dusty back there; don’t grab that one often.  I try never to drop the kids ball, but I have been know to forget about a carpool run or a permission slip. 

Hopefully, my kids and my husband can forgive me when I drop their ball and let them down.  One thing is for sure, I am massively dependent on the grace of God.

Leave a comment